Pueblo Elder/Hamaatsa Founder, Larry Littlebird


you are coming this way

The Elders tell us, "Accept your particular life, the whole of it, then celebrate it with joy,

your connection to it, so you can give back, all that has been given to you."  



HAMAATSA is a tiny spot on the earth with a strong vision committed to spiritual wholeness and regenerative living informed by indigenous land wisdom and spiritual life-ways for healing land and people. It is here on this threshold one can encounter beauty in nature and discover ways of blessing. 


We operate on a modest sustainable income with a handful of people: artists, farmers, herbalists and activists coming alongside mystics, storytellers and culture bearers.  We nurture artistic creativity, foster self-sufficiency and model regenerative farming growing healthy foodsheds. Sheltered with courage in this hermetic land place, we reverently carry the stories of our elders forward and remember how they tell us: be brave, be strong, keep going. 

Hamaatsa is an indigenous continuum and a Pueblo Indian family legacy. We are the voice in the land that bears witness to the American Indian holocaust and the past and present injustices of First Nations peoples. May we be a spark to kindle justice for healing the soul wounds of our nations. Shall the People continue and may the generations coming along behind realize peace, forgiveness and restoration.

Founders and Spiritual Directors 

Larry  Littlebird, Laguna/Santo Domingo Pueblo (Read Bio)

Deborah Littlebird (Read Bio)

Board of Directors

Deborah Littlebird, Executive Director

Larry Littlebird, President

Helen Torran, Secretary/Treasurer

Jesse Raine Littlebird (Laguna Pueblo)

Bill Bailey (Cherokee Tribe)

Greg Valerio, MBE, England

Hamaatsa is a Native-led 501(c)3 tax-exempt nonprofit and operates with a Board of Directors and Advisory Council that uses an indigenous approach to governance through a Council Process based on an age-old tribal family clan model. The Council's core precepts serve its individuals, families, community and constituents with regard and respect for all our relations as we work and live together in sisterly and brotherly unity.

In Loving Memory

of our beloved Pueblo Elders who have gone on ahead...

Stanley Lucero (Laguna Pueblo)

David Riley (Hopi/Laguna Pueblo)

Bill Sunrise (Santo Domingo Pueblo)

Andrew Ahsona (Cochiti Pueblo)

Philip Duran (Tigua)

Jose and Amelita Toledo (Jemez Pueblo)

Lucy Yepa Lowden (Jemez Pueblo)

Ignacia Duran (Tesuque Pueblo)